Join Africa's fastest growing career community!

Featured

The 4 Biggest Career Mistakes I Made in 2021 (And How I Plan to Bounce Back)

Career mistakes, whether big or small, can impact your future. But it's never the end of the road, you can still bounce back. Need tips? We’ve got your back.

Article Preview Image

Career mistakes, whether big or small, can impact your future. But it's never the end of the road, you can still bounce back. Need tips? We’ve got your back.

Photo credit: senivpetro

Everyone wants a successful career with zero career mistakes, but messing up is human nature. So what better way to prevent you from making career mistakes than to learn from the career mistakes I made in 2021. Here is a compilation of four of the biggest career mistakes that I have made in 2021 and how you can avoid making them.

1. I did not set career goals

When I graduated from university, I was very clueless about what I wanted to achieve in my career. I thought that making money was my sole career goal. Looking back, I see how I set myself up for failure. If I had set goals, I would have had a head start on excelling in my career. However, it’s never too late. Eventually, I made a list of both short and long-term career goals.

Goals help us focus and measure our success and progress. When you achieve your short-term goals, you will boost your self-esteem and confidence. This boost of ambition will drive you towards achieving your long-term goals. Track your progress and set a timeframe for achieving your career goals. This way, you can gauge how close you are to achieving your long-term goals.

I was very comfortable in my career in 2021, which made me lose out on career advancement opportunities. Working without career goals is going to get you comfortable. This comfort will cost you your career since your dreams will be unfulfilled, and your skills will become outdated.

2. I did not grow and advance my skills and experience